We Are In This Together - Important Information regarding COVID-19×

2021 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship 

The 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar is Kurtis Davis, click here to read more about his endeavors. 


The 2021 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship application will be available online August, 2020.

Applications are due September, 2020 by 5 p.m.

Lilly Endowment established the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program to help raise Indiana's level of educational attainment and to leverage further the ability of Indiana’s community foundations to enhance the quality of life for local residents. 

The program is offered state-wide and administered by local community foundations, with oversight from Independent Colleges of Indiana. Since the program started in 1998, 37 students from LaGrange County have received the award.

Award Details: The scholarship provides full tuition for four years at an accredited Indiana college or university, with a special allocation for up to $900 for books and required equipment. Room and board is not included. 

Criteria needed to apply:

  • On course to graduate by June 30, 2021, with a diploma from an accredited LaGrange County school and plan to pursue a full-time baccalaureate course of study at an accredited public or private college or university in Indiana. 
  • Resident of LaGrange County.
  • Completed the SAT or ACT exam, with test scores recorded on the official high school transcript. 
  • A minimum GPA of 3.0.

The LaGrange County Community Foundation's Lilly Scholarship Advisory Committee evaluates applicants in several categories: community service, leadership, academics, work history, extracurricular involvement, essays and personal interview. 

Supporting documents required in the online application:
• Official high school transcript
• Two recommendations
• Two essays

From the application round, five finalists will be selected for an interview in October, at the LaGrange County Community Foundation. The scholarship recipient will be announced in December. 

Questions? Click here to email Scholarship Manager Laurie Sherck.